Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Moving to San Francisco from the UK

Moving to San Francisco from the UK

Old Feb 13th 2011, 7:39 pm
Just Joined

mattsaundersmcp is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to San Francisco from the UK

Hi their I am looking at moving to San Francisco form the UK in August of this year but I have a few questions

In the UK I work in IT as Support Administrator and would like to do this in San Fran. To move over the San Francisco can I get a travel visa then look for a job or do I have to have a work visa?
Old Feb 13th 2011, 7:44 pm
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Moving to San Francisco from the UK

Originally Posted by mattsaundersmcp View Post
Hi their I am looking at moving to San Francisco form the UK in August of this year but I have a few questions

In the UK I work in IT as Support Administrator and would like to do this in San Fran. To move over the San Francisco can I get a travel visa then look for a job or do I have to have a work visa?
You need a work visa if you are not a citizen or LPR ('green card' holder). Have a read of this to see which visa (if any) you may qualify for, and then you can come back and ask specific questions about it. http://britishexpats.com/wiki/Pulaski's_Ways:_How_to_Live_and_Work_in_the_USA

Bear in mind that the US is notorious as one of the hardest countries to immigrate to, so you might want to have a 'Plan B'.

Good luck.
Old Feb 13th 2011, 7:59 pm