British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Moving to San Francisco from the UK (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/moving-san-francisco-uk-705284/)

mattsaundersmcp Feb 13th 2011 7:39 pm

Moving to San Francisco from the UK

Hi their I am looking at moving to San Francisco form the UK in August of this year but I have a few questions

In the UK I work in IT as Support Administrator and would like to do this in San Fran. To move over the San Francisco can I get a travel visa then look for a job or do I have to have a work visa?

christmasoompa Feb 13th 2011 7:44 pm

Re: Moving to San Francisco from the UK

Originally Posted by mattsaundersmcp (Post 9173838)
Hi their I am looking at moving to San Francisco form the UK in August of this year but I have a few questions

In the UK I work in IT as Support Administrator and would like to do this in San Fran. To move over the San Francisco can I get a travel visa then look for a job or do I have to have a work visa?

You need a work visa if you are not a citizen or LPR ('green card' holder). Have a read of this to see which visa (if any) you may qualify for, and then you can come back and ask specific questions about it. http://britishexpats.com/wiki/Pulaski's_Ways:_How_to_Live_and_Work_in_the_USA

Bear in mind that the US is notorious as one of the hardest countries to immigrate to, so you might want to have a 'Plan B'.

Good luck. :)

dbj1000 Feb 13th 2011 7:59 pm

...and based on what you've told us so far, Plan B should definitely involve working in a country other than the US.

mattsaundersmcp Feb 13th 2011 8:09 pm

My plan B would be canada is this easier to get into?

christmasoompa Feb 13th 2011 8:12 pm

Originally Posted by mattsaundersmcp (Post 9173893)
My plan B would be canada is this easier to get into?