Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Moving back to the UK

Moving back to the UK

Old Sep 27th 2023, 12:16 pm
Just Joined

spowell is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving back to the UK

I have been a permanent resident in the USA for 18 years. I have been paying taxes and also into an FRS retirement system.
When I move back to the UK will I have to continue to file yearly taxes in the USA ? Will my UK investments need to be declared if that is the case ?
I am sure there is a lot I will need to know so if there is a post on this already please let me know.

Have a great day guys.
Old Sep 27th 2023, 2:54 pm
Furby

Glasgow Girl has a reputation beyond reputeGlasgow Girl has a reputation beyond reputeGlasgow Girl has a reputation beyond reputeGlasgow Girl has a reputation beyond reputeGlasgow Girl has a reputation beyond reputeGlasgow Girl has a reputation beyond reputeGlasgow Girl has a reputation beyond reputeGlasgow Girl has a reputation beyond reputeGlasgow Girl has a reputation beyond reputeGlasgow Girl has a reputation beyond reputeGlasgow Girl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Moving back to the UK

If you are a U.S. Citizen or Green Card holder then you are subject to IRS taxation and financial reporting requirements no matter where in the world you live. So, yes you would have to report all UK investments (as you do now) and submit a IRS tax return. The only way to avoid that is to relinquish citizenship or your green card. If your total worldwide assets are less than $2M that is doable without too much pain, if more than that then there will be some financial pain. Moving from the US to the UK is not as onerous as the other direction, but there are some things you should take care of regardless because you may be able to optimize the total taxes paid depending upon how you manage any US based assets but that depends upon what you have and how long before you move back.
Old Sep 27th 2023, 3:11 pm