British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Move to USA from UK - UK income, credit score & mortgage, health coverage (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/move-usa-uk-uk-income-credit-score-mortgage-health-coverage-935329/)

markwidgery Oct 17th 2020 3:45 pm

Move to USA from UK - UK income, credit score & mortgage, health coverage

I am a British primary care physician (GP) currently living in the UK. My wife is a US citizen and we have lived in the UK for 17 years since we got married, and our kids all have dual UK/US nationality. Mainly to be near her parents we are considering a permanent move to the USA (Portland, Oregon specifically) and would appreciate some advice.

Residency application
We submitted the USCIS online I-130 6 weeks ago and it is still saying pending when we log in. Anyone have any experience of timescale (esp now with COVID) and any suggestions of ways to expedite the process? I have researched the subsequent process on the US London Embassy page.

Income and tax
I am not able to work as a physician in the US without significant retraining. However, I can continue some of my current UK medical work remotely which has already been arranged. I know from threads on this site already that I can set myself up as a sole proprietor in the US and file my UK based self-employed income (with appropriate exchange rate) with the IRS. I also run my own UK-based business of which I am one of 2 directors. I will continue to run this from the US, and normally would take dividends from the company (after UK corporation tax etc is paid). Does the IRS treat dividend income differently and does this impact whether I should consider drawing a salary from the company?

Credit score