Reload this Page >

MI Driving Licence for non residents

MI Driving Licence for non residents

Old Jun 13th 2003, 3:50 pm
Just Joined

jclark is an unknown quantity at this point
Default MI Driving Licence for non residents

Hi,

Okay this is maybe a strange situation, but I visit the USA and stay in the company apartment for up to 2 months at a time, on a fairly regualr basis. I do not need a H1B at the moment as I am just visiting our US staff,distributors, providing training and discuss marketing with our partners, I am still a UK resident, am paid in the UK, have an office etc.

Rather than have a hire car all the time I have purchased a car in the USA. The secretary of states office have informed the dealer that it is legal for me to do so, Title is in my name, registered to me at the company apartment address, covered by the company insurance. The SoS office acceped my UK driving licence number for registration purposes, so I am already to pick up the car.

So far so good, all above is legal and confirmed by SoS, no hearsay or friend of a friend stuff.

A local law enforcement friend (state trooper) has informed me that if stopped my UK licence (with passport as it is the good old paper one) will suffice.

I would however like to have a Michigan licence so I dont have to carry PP and DL. SoS office website states that the following documents would be adequate.

1) UK driving licence
2) Passport
3) Birth certificate

But hearsay evidence from friends says "No you will need a visa".

Has anyone ever managed to get a driving licence without a visa ?

Jim
Old Jun 13th 2003, 4:00 pm
Not living a 9 to 5 life