Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Marriage with Green Card Holder (Permanent Resident)

Marriage with Green Card Holder (Permanent Resident)

Old Dec 18th 2003, 1:29 pm
Just Joined

ronin1770 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Marriage with Green Card Holder (Permanent Resident)

Hi,

I am a currently a student in USA and about to marry my girlfriend (who is currently have Permanent Residence Status)... i wanna know

1) If i marry her, how long will it take to get Work Permit

2) once i applied for new status (permanent residence) will i be allowed to leave USA and come back as my Student Visa will be cancelled as i applied for new status

waiting for your reply

bye
Old Dec 18th 2003, 2:48 pm
Ray

Ray has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Marriage with Green Card Holder (Permanent Resident)

Originally posted by ronin1770
Hi,

I am a currently a student in USA and about to marry my girlfriend (who is currently have Permanent Residence Status)... i wanna know
2) once i applied for new status (permanent residence) will i be allowed to leave USA and come back as my Student Visa will be cancelled as i applied for new status
waiting for your reply
bye
I have a feeling this is not that easy..in your situation but from what I understand a marriage petition may be filed by a Legal Permanent Resident (LPR), however the non-LPR spouse is only able to enter or remain in the US subject to visa quota requirements. and if the LPR got their status through a previous marriage to a US citizen it can get even more complicated..
See an Immigration Laywer to be sure of your position.