Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Librianship degree equivalency

Librianship degree equivalency

Old Jan 7th 2012, 5:31 pm
Just Joined

MellD is just really niceMellD is just really niceMellD is just really niceMellD is just really niceMellD is just really niceMellD is just really niceMellD is just really niceMellD is just really niceMellD is just really niceMellD is just really niceMellD is just really nice
Default Librianship degree equivalency

Are there any librarians in the forum that received their degree (or certification) in the UK but have since moved to US? I have an MA from Brighton Uni.
I’ve had a quick look into the agencies that ‘convert’ or evaluate degrees but I’d like to hear if any librarians have had any experience with this. Is it worth it, recommendations for agencies, how long did the process take?
I have plenty of post qualification experience and the ALA (professional body in US) website states that a degree accredited by CILIP (professional body in UK) “is considered acceptable for employment in the United States”. I’m sure I can’t be the first librarian going through this process.

…And yes, you can get a degree in librarianship – had a whole module on shushing (there is a mastery in the placement of the index finger over the lips).
Old Jan 7th 2012, 5:43 pm
BE Forum Addict

Scouse Express has a reputation beyond reputeScouse Express has a reputation beyond reputeScouse Express has a reputation beyond reputeScouse Express has a reputation beyond reputeScouse Express has a reputation beyond reputeScouse Express has a reputation beyond reputeScouse Express has a reputation beyond reputeScouse Express has a reputation beyond reputeScouse Express has a reputation beyond reputeScouse Express has a reputation beyond reputeScouse Express has a reputation beyond repute
Talking Re: Librianship degree equivalency

Originally Posted by MellD