British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Leaving my son in U.S. (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/leaving-my-son-u-s-714601/)

mooshie Apr 25th 2011 8:54 pm

Leaving my son in U.S.

Hello again,:)

Had our immigrant (f4) interview and was approved..Me and my son will be flying to florida next week for 2 weeks, i booked our return tickets..i am a nurse and I need to activate ssn so i can transfer my nursing license from Vermont to Florida then come back here in U.k. To sort out some things before moving permanently with the whole family (3 children and husband)maybe by August just in time for school opening.

My question is, can i leave My son with my sister in florida and just me to come back in U.K. Then reunited with him in August with the whole family. If I am allowed to do that, will i have any problem with the airline as i booked return ticket for both of us?
Your reply will be much appreciated..thanks:)

A I Apr 25th 2011 8:57 pm

Re: Leaving my son in U.S.

How old is your son ?

mooshie Apr 25th 2011 9:12 pm

Originally Posted by A I (Post 9325867)
How old is your son ?

I'm sorry, forgot to mention, he is 15 years old..he mentioned to me if he can
Stay with my sister (u.s. Citizen) and his cousins until we come back by August with the whole family..

I tried to research the forum about it but can't find any with same situation x

meauxna Apr 25th 2011 9:54 pm

Originally Posted by mooshie (Post 9325894)
I'm sorry, forgot to mention, he is 15 years old..he mentioned to me if he can
Stay with my sister (u.s. Citizen) and his cousins until we come back by August with the whole family..

I tried to research the forum about it but can't find any with same situation x

What exactly is your concern about this? Immigration-wise, it should not make any difference. But, you will want to look into the legalities of leaving your minor child with an adult who isn't his parent.