British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   L2 to North Carolina, possibly pregnant at 42 (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/l2-north-carolina-possibly-pregnant-42-a-872052/)

MilosMummy Feb 8th 2016 10:05 am

L2 to North Carolina, possibly pregnant at 42

Hi all,

I'm a rookie to all this so please be gentle !

Hubby is heading up a US arm of the company he works for and subsequently he, myself and our 5 year old son will be relocating. L1/L2 visas are imminent as our attorney is filing.

My biggest question is about insurance. What if I am pregnant before arriving on US soil, will insurance still cover me ? The company is going to give us a good insurance and details are being put in place but I saw a post from years ago saying insurance won't cover a pre-existing pregnancy. That's terrifying since I imagine it costs around $30k without. Please can you impart some of your wisdom, particularly those of you that may have experienced just what I am describing - turning up pregnant in the USA. It's still early days and I am 42 and it may not work out that I can carry a child at my age but I would like to have my facts straight anyway. Thanks in advance !!

Lion in Winter Feb 8th 2016 10:42 am

Re: L2 to North Carolina, possibly pregnant at 42

Originally Posted by MilosMummy (Post 11860991)
Hi all,

I'm a rookie to all this so please be gentle !

Hubby is heading up a US arm of the company he works for and subsequently he, myself and our 5 year old son will be relocating. L1/L2 visas are imminent as our attorney is filing.