Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Jobs in America

Jobs in America

Old Aug 5th 2003, 8:35 am
Living in Milwaukee, USA!

mcjimbo will become famous soon enough
Default Jobs in America

I've read some rather interesting posts about the job situation in the States at the moment..... sounds pretty scary. I'm due to move next summer. I will be living in Milwaukee, Wisconsin initially.

It seems while U.S. companys are having a hard time and laying off all their workers, UK companys are posting profits and hiring more workers (just saw a report on BBC this morning). However it is true that certain jobs such as call centres are being relocated to India to cut costs, but overall I think the job market in the UK is quite good.

I work as a software developer for a recruitment provider in the UK. A lot of our clients have just doubled the intake on their graduate recruitment campaigns. In fact as a rough figure recruitment across all of our clients (who are large companys in many different industrys) is up by 30% on the previous year.

So how is it when our economy that is so heavily dependent on US economy/business is flourishing while America seems to be taking a serious dive? The UK also went to war in Iraq and although it didn't spend the same amount as America, it still spent quite alot for a country its size. I just can't understand how the economy that drives the world seems to be falling apart?
Old Aug 5th 2003, 11:05 am

Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Jobs in America