Reload this Page >

J1 to H1B - tax treaty question

J1 to H1B - tax treaty question

Old Sep 21st 2016, 1:10 am
Just Joined

_EJ_ is an unknown quantity at this point
Default J1 to H1B - tax treaty question

Hi,

Looking for anyone who has experience switching from a J1 to an H1B visa please.

I've found this thread to be somewhat relevant:
http://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-5...ty-20a-626424/

I was a J1 postdoc for one year, and used the two year UK-US tax treaty. I've recently switched to an H1B in a different state. I was planning to use the tax treaty for the J1 time, and not for the H1B time (i.e. no taxes on J1, taxes on H1B, file as dual status). To my mind, I've left the country before my two year tax treaty time is up, and then re-entered with a different visa/job. Is this correct, or should I start making plans to repay back a year of federal tax?

Thank you in advance for any advice or insight.

EJ
Old Sep 23rd 2016, 1:26 am
Grumpy Know-it-all

Steve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: J1 to H1B - tax treaty question

Yeah, you can file dual-status in that situation.

It's nothing to do with the tax treaty, there is a specific provision in the internal revenue code that provides an exemption for alien teachers, exchange visitors and students in a non-immigrant status. (Although it's mentioned in Article 20 of the treaty as well, but only in relation to payments received from abroad).