Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

J1 2 year tax waiver coming to an end. What to do?

J1 2 year tax waiver coming to an end. What to do?

Old Jan 22nd 2009, 1:17 am
BE Enthusiast

caleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond repute
Default J1 2 year tax waiver coming to an end. What to do?

Hey,

So.... I am currently a postdoc on a J1. My 2-year contract ends in April, after the tax stuff is all due for this year.

I've been claiming the federal tax waiver, which is all well and good.

However, here's where things get complicated.

I have landed a nice job in industry in California. I am in the process of applying for an O-1 visa. This is a longshot of course. If we don't get it they will go for an H1-b, with a view to me starting here in October (I'll be relocated to Europe in the meantime).

Either way, I should be in California before the end of the year.

My understanding is that I will now owe the IRS a sizeable chunk of change from the taxes I haven't paid.

A payment plan will be necessary I think - I have no savings. I have heard on here before that it is possible to negotiate the payment setup. Is this true? Can you haggle them down on how much you owe?

Some people have suggested on here that it's just a matter of picking up the phone and having a chat with them. Should I employ an accountant? Can they save me money in this case?

Thanks!
There is no point of contacting them until I get the visa
Old Jan 22nd 2009, 8:04 pm
Bob
BE Site Lead