British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Investing in the UK (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/investing-uk-924178/)

PeterFrank Apr 15th 2019 2:18 pm

Investing in the UK

Hi. I am a permanent resident in the US but have money in the UK that isn't doing anything. I don't want to transfer to the US until the exchange rates improves if ever. I notice a lot of the banks and investment companies in the UK don't let you open new accounts or make investments if you are non resident. Has anyone found a way around this and successfully manages their UK savings?

Thanks in advance for any information.

Hotscot Apr 15th 2019 2:29 pm

Re: Investing in the UK

I know this doesn't answer your question, but it comes up regularly.

Personally I don't see the point of adding complexity/paperwork headaches to my investing strategy when there are literally tons of excellent investing choices through Vanguard, Fidelity etc...
I keep a few bob in an account, under the FBAR limit, to deal with incidentals. but that's about it.
I'd just transfer the dosh and get it working here. Especially if it's sitting doing nothing.

What's your perceived advantage in UK investments? Playing the exchange rate is rarely worthwhile long term.

PeterFrank Apr 15th 2019 2:34 pm

The only advantage is the deferment of the exchange rate issue at the moment.

Hotscot Apr 15th 2019 2:37 pm

No real advantage then to be honest.
In the meantime it's sitting there doing nothing.
Transfer it here, get it working, enjoy the straightforward 1099's at Turbo Tax time.
Enjoy life.

Pulaski Apr 15th 2019 3:37 pm

Originally Posted by PeterFrank (Post 12671174)
The only advantage is the deferment of the exchange rate issue at the moment.