Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Immigrant Visa timescale/deadline

Immigrant Visa timescale/deadline

Old Jun 18th 2002, 6:50 pm
Forum Regular

John Murray will become famous soon enoughJohn Murray will become famous soon enough
Default Immigrant Visa timescale/deadline

I am a UK resident, married to a US resident. We both reside permanently in UK, and are about to commence the process of obtaining an immigrant visa.

Once (if) we have secured this visa, is there any timescale which I have to adhere to for moving to USA? e.g when my wife received her UK immigration authorisation, it only remained valid for 6 months, and if she had to wait longer than that, she would have had to re-apply.
Old Jun 18th 2002, 10:20 pm
Mark Carroll

Default Re: Immigrant Visa timescale/deadline

In article <[email protected]>, John Murray <[email protected]>
wrote: (snip)
    >Once (if) we have secured this visa, is there any timescale which I have to adhere
    >to for moving to USA? e.g when my wife received her UK immigration authorisation, it
    >only remained valid for 6 months, and if she had to wait longer than that, she would
    >have had to re-apply.

I think it's also 6 months, IIRC. I don't know if it can be extended at all.

-- Mark

Old Jun 19th 2002, 4:20 pm
L D Jones

Default Re: Immigrant Visa timescale/deadline

John Murray wrote:
    >
    > I am a UK resident, married to a US resident. We both reside permanently in UK, and
    > are about to commence the process of obtaining an immigrant visa.
    >
    > Once (if) we have secured this visa, is there any timescale which I have to adhere
    > to for moving to USA? e.g when my wife received her UK immigration authorisation,
    > it only remained valid for 6 months, and if she had to wait longer than that, she
    > would have had to re-apply.

It will be valid for 6 months. I've never heard of extending the visa validity period