British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   I-130, K2, or K1 (again)?!? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/i-130-k2-k1-again-127855/)

Dante Jan 20th 2003 9:08 pm

I-130, K2, or K1 (again)?!?

Though it's embarressing to admit, I've just totally scuppered my visa chances. My US fiancee sent in the original petition last May, it took 5 months for approval (a case of 'we didn't get form x, oh sorry, yes we did, oops!') and I duly received my package and sent off the DS-230 and went about gathering documents. The problem is, that as a teacher, I thought I'd wait a while. I didn't want an interview coming up too soon and have to run out on my class mid-term for that wonderful new life in California. So I waited three months. Now I call the US Embassy in London and find out that the application time limit has expired, my case number has been cancelled and that's it, back to square one!

Now whilst I totally accept the blame for allowing this to happen, I'm at a loss to figure out what to do next. My fiancee is currently studying in London. Which would be the quickest option now? To repeat the whole K1 fiasco with another I-129F petition, or just get married and apply for an I-130 in person at the Embassy?

Any advice much appreciated.

Red-faced and despairing,

James

leej Jan 22nd 2003 6:12 am

Re: I-130, K2, or K1 (again)?!?

Hello

I am an Immigration Attorney practicing in San Francisco. All K-1s, as you found out the hard way are valid for a 90 day period. If you need an extension you would have to go to the US Embassy in London with a good reason for the extension otherwise the validity period will lapse.

As for the question of whether to file for another K-1 or file an I-130 - this would depend on how long your USC girfriend intends to stay in the UK. If she will be in the UK for a while, you may be better off filing the I-130, and then file for a K-3 petition.