Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

How much money to go with?

How much money to go with?

Old Jul 12th 2008, 9:30 pm
Just Joined

webster2007 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default How much money to go with?

Hi - my husband and I are currently going through the green card process - I'm a dual UK/USA citizen. I am a science teacher and I already have work through a teaching agency, being placed in either Virginia, N. Carolina or S. Carolina (not heard yet).

We are saving our pennies but would like an idea of how much is a good amount of money to go over with. We will get accommodation and a car to rent through the agency, but will have to pay for these. I will be earning around $29,000 a year, and my husband is yet to find work.

I know specifics may be hard, but a general idea would be great.

Cheers
Old Jul 12th 2008, 9:40 pm
Bob
BE Site Lead

Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How much money to go with?

Ouch, that'll be tough till he gets a job...you've gotta figure in federal/state and possibly city taxes, social, medicare etc, plus your insurance.

Getting set up, well if you want your own place, without credit history will make the first year a bit more expensive, deposits on utilities etc. Same with a car, don't want to be on a rental long term.

Read through the wiki on credit and all the other stuff to get an idea of things, but a good wedge of cash will help...
Old Jul 13th 2008, 12:25 pm
Just Joined

Thanks Bob for the reply.