Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

How to establish credit history in the US?

How to establish credit history in the US?

Old Jul 28th 2003, 6:51 pm
Forum Regular

janousek is an unknown quantity at this point
Default How to establish credit history in the US?

Hi there,
I don't know if I'm posting at thr right place, but I hope my questions will be answered/discussed here. I've seen posts about Immigration, SSN, Job Hunting, DMV and I notice everyone's experiences and opinions are really helpful.
Well, since I'm new in the US. I'm trying to establish my credit here and beleive me I'm having a tough time to do so. I was denied credit frrom one financial institution on the basis that I have insufficient credit history in the US. I'm not disappointed, but I was wondering, if they keep denying me credit on such basis, how can I establish my credit in the US?
I've tried to search the answers on websites like www.bankrate.com few sites suggest getting a secured credit card at first.
Has anyone been through what I'm going through. Please note that I've never had a credit card in my own country because I didn't beleive in plastic but here it's different. Also my wife has one medical bill in credit bureau, can it affect my credit application? If yes, how? BTW I applied for the card in my name only. And we have a joint checking account. We haven't talked to our banker yet, I thought I'll discuss this here on NG first so I know what I'm talking about when I go to talk to a banker or creditor.
Please advise, Thanks
-Janousek
Old Jul 28th 2003, 7:13 pm
BE Enthusiast