Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

How does sponsorship work?

How does sponsorship work?

Old Oct 20th 2002, 1:16 pm
Just Joined

Flem2002 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default How does sponsorship work?

For a while my husband and I have thought seriously about uprooting from the UK to live in the States. My aunt and uncle emigrated there 30 years ago and have said they would sponsor us, but we don't really know what this involves and would it be enough?
I have a bachelors degree, but not in a subject that gives me any particular skills.

Can anyone give us any advice please?
Old Oct 22nd 2002, 3:56 am
Hnchoksi

Default Re: How does sponsorship work?

>Subject: How does sponsorship work?
    >From: Flem2002 [email protected]
    >Date: 10/20/02 9:16 AM Eastern Daylight Time
    >Message-id:
    >For a while my husband and I have thought seriously about uprooting from
    >the UK to live in the States. My aunt and uncle emigrated there 30
    >years ago and have said they would sponsor us, but we don't really know
    >what this involves and would it be enough?
    >I have a bachelors degree, but not in a subject that gives me any
    >particular skills.

Your aunt cannot sponsor you.

What is your degree in? You'd be surprised at what degrees are accepted for
H-1B visas...

Old Oct 22nd 2002, 5:41 pm
Forum Regular

fleming77 is an unknown quantity at this point

Originally posted by Flem2002:
For a while my husband and I have thought seriously about uprooting from the UK to live in the States. My aunt and uncle emigrated there 30 years ago and have said they would sponsor us, but we don't really know what this involves and would it be enough?
I have a bachelors degree, but not in a subject that gives me any particular skills.