Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Holiday...sorry...Vacation Time (or Lack of)

Wikiposts

Holiday...sorry...Vacation Time (or Lack of)

Old Sep 19th 2006, 6:41 pm
Forum Regular

kev_in_hawaii has much to be proud ofkev_in_hawaii has much to be proud ofkev_in_hawaii has much to be proud ofkev_in_hawaii has much to be proud ofkev_in_hawaii has much to be proud ofkev_in_hawaii has much to be proud ofkev_in_hawaii has much to be proud ofkev_in_hawaii has much to be proud ofkev_in_hawaii has much to be proud ofkev_in_hawaii has much to be proud ofkev_in_hawaii has much to be proud of
Default Holiday...sorry...Vacation Time (or Lack of)

I knew that the USA wouldn't be up to the UK in terms of time off - I've been working here in Hawaii for 6 months and I've earned just about enough time to take off 3 whole days! It's supposed to get better next year (up to 2 weeks + carry over time).

This in itself is OK (since I only live 5 minutes walk from work = long evenings) - but the company insists that any sick time comes out of your vacation time. Presumably to stop too many 'sickies'!

Is this usual policy for US companies? It means you have to come in when you're genuinely sick because you don't want to lose what little time off you have!

Still, I'm not too cut up about it, I'm happy I was able to get a decent job fairly quicky
Old Sep 19th 2006, 11:59 pm
Account Closed

TouristTrap is just really niceTouristTrap is just really niceTouristTrap is just really niceTouristTrap is just really niceTouristTrap is just really niceTouristTrap is just really niceTouristTrap is just really niceTouristTrap is just really nice
Default Re: Holiday...sorry...Vacation Time (or Lack of)

Originally Posted by kev_in_hawaii