British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   HI ALL registering a vehicle in USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/hi-all-registering-vehicle-usa-332030/)

jonny140 Oct 18th 2005 5:20 am

HI ALL registering a vehicle in USA

Hi im new to the usa (aussie ) and would like to know how or if i can register a vehicle in the states im in Missouri iam on a standard Business Visa . thanky all. i wanna set up a business and sell stuff here and hire people

Bob Oct 18th 2005 5:23 am

Re: HI ALL registering a vehicle in USA

depends on the state and possibly the city...as you might need to show residence in that city etc....best bet would be to look up the DMV/BMV for that state you'll be in.....but usually you'll have to show insurance of the motor to register it, and once registered, have to get it inspected...

jonny140 Oct 18th 2005 5:34 am

thanky superbob y the best mate

Manc Oct 18th 2005 11:50 am

may one ask what a standard business visa is?

dbj1000 Oct 18th 2005 12:06 pm

Originally Posted by Manc
may one ask what a standard business visa is?

Just what I was wondering. You weren't sold this "Standard Business Visa" by a bloke in a pub, were you?

fatbrit Oct 18th 2005 3:54 pm

http://www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/titling.htm

It all depends what your "standard business visa" is.

If, for example, it's a B-1/2, you're SOL.

Big D Oct 18th 2005 5:10 pm

Originally Posted by jonny140
Hi im new to the usa (aussie ) and would like to know how or if i can register a vehicle in the states im in Missouri iam on a standard Business Visa . thanky all. i wanna set up a business and sell stuff here and hire people

some states require a state driving license - other dont - if you are going to be resident you should be OK

what does selling stuff and hiring people have to do with your question?

Manc Oct 18th 2005 5:14 pm

Originally Posted by Big D