Reload this Page >

Help - ultra confused!

Help - ultra confused!

Old Oct 26th 2007, 4:37 pm
Just Joined

sarflondongirl is an unknown quantity at this point
Post Help - ultra confused!

Hi all.

******SORRY FOR THE LONG POST, HOWEVER THANKS FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ IT********

I'm new to this board and would like to thank all of you who've posted excellent content with experiences, facts and references to help me with my research for my move to North America.

Why am I ultra confused? Well I've been working on a strategy to move to the US for years which I review every now and again in light of any changes to the Visas. However after looking at two new options yesterday with the help of this forum and Google, now I'm even more confused. Can anyone help me with a strategy please?

I'm a self-employed consultant with 10 years experience in Marketing & Advertising. I'm looking at expanding my business from a small online venture based in the UK to a shop front and warehouse based in the US. I'm structuring the business this way so that the UK business doesn't keep me here physically for the majority of the year. Staff will most likely not be on my payroll but will be contracted by or joint ventures with my company both in the UK and US.

I'm looking for a strategy which will lead to a GC (length of processing time isn't a big deal right now), but in the meantime I'd like the option of spending several months each year living there (or extended holiday if that vernacular is preferred) without raising suspicion or flouting the visa rules. (I normally enter the US on VWP and I will not be working or earning US sourced income whilst in the US). I just don't enjoy spending 12/12 months a year in Blighty and need to make a change from next year.

Do you have any suggestions or questions to help determine a strategy? I'm pretty flexible and can leave the UK after April 2008 at the earliest.

For more information to help, please see below.

Citizenship: British