British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   haven't a clue! (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/havent-clue-248553/)

chelly Aug 13th 2004 3:03 pm

haven't a clue!

undefinedundefined :scared:
hi!

I hope there are people out there who can help! I have to travel in the near future to NJ to help elderly relatives. I am a UK resident and have not the first clue about the following:

1. Healthcare provision
2. Funerals
3. Car hire
4. legal requirements to drive costs etc
5. buying and establishng a PC
6. many more too numerous think this is a lot to ask!

anyway if you do have anything to say that will point me in the right direction, I have been trawling the net to nonavail!

thanks anyway
chelly :)

Manc Aug 13th 2004 3:18 pm

Re: haven't a clue!

Originally Posted by chelly
undefinedundefined :scared:
hi!

I hope there are people out there who can help! I have to travel in the near future to NJ to help elderly relatives. I am a UK resident and have not the first clue about the following:

1. Healthcare provision
2. Funerals
3. Car hire

anyway if you do have anything to say that will point me in the right direction, I have been trawling the net to nonavail!

thanks anyway
chelly :)

how long you going for?

James Box Aug 13th 2004 3:34 pm

1. Healthcare provision

For you or your relatives?

2. Funerals

Is this likely soon?

3. Car hire

Shouldn't be a problem with a valid UK licence

Not a problem for a visit, may get costly. Talk to car hire firms that also operate in the US (Avis, Enterprise, Hertz etc)

If you don't have one already, get a laptop. Easy to carry around and can be used in both countries. It will be cheaper in the US, but you'll also have a US keyboard (no £ key)

Staying longer than 90 days? Planning on working? You'll need a visa.

chelly Aug 13th 2004 4:02 pm