Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

H1 B - how do you get it?

H1 B - how do you get it?

Old Sep 15th 2006, 5:05 am
Banned

Budowsky is a splendid one to beholdBudowsky is a splendid one to beholdBudowsky is a splendid one to beholdBudowsky is a splendid one to beholdBudowsky is a splendid one to beholdBudowsky is a splendid one to beholdBudowsky is a splendid one to beholdBudowsky is a splendid one to beholdBudowsky is a splendid one to beholdBudowsky is a splendid one to beholdBudowsky is a splendid one to behold
Default H1 B - how do you get it?

Are there any brits in the US who went over without a job to look for a job and then got a visa?

From what I can tell, that is the ONLY way I would be able to get into the States.

I have a degree and have about 10 years experience in IT
Old Sep 15th 2006, 9:11 am
Arrogant ****

dbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: H1 B - how do you get it?

Originally Posted by Budowsky
Are there any brits in the US who went over without a job to look for a job and then got a visa?

From what I can tell, that is the ONLY way I would be able to get into the States.

An IT degree and any amount of experience are unlikely to be sufficient to interest an employer in sponsoring you for an H1-B unless you have particularly unusual IT skills. Sponsoring an H1-B costs the company thousands of dollars, not to mention the relocation costs, so most companies will avoid you like the plague unless you have a skill that is either extremely unusual or highly in demand. Unfortunately neither applies to most IT skills.