British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   H-1B - 12 Years Experience (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/h-1b-12-years-experience-713995/)

marcnotrust Apr 20th 2011 8:52 am

H-1B - 12 Years Experience

Hi Guys,

I am a Senior Network Engineer with 6 years experience and high qualified Cisco and Juniper certifications. However, I have no degree (Went straight into work at BT).

Myself and my wife both want to immigrate to the states, but my obvious problem, besides finding a job would be the no degree and no 12 years experience.

I dont have time to do a full Open University degree etc, and potentially by the time I finish this I would have nearly the 12 years experience any ways.

What I am wondering, if if anyone is aware of any Diplomas etc that I could do which may be equivalent to a years University studying etc. Anything to shave time of the 12 years experience I would require.

Thanks,
Marc

marcnotrust Apr 20th 2011 9:12 am

Re: H-1B - 12 Years Experience

Might be worth adding, I would be looking at doing it in IT/Networking/Business - Something that would relate in a roundabout way to IT and Networking.

Thanks,
Marc

christmasoompa Apr 20th 2011 9:50 am

Out of interest, what happened to the idea of Canada? Would be a heck of a lot easier than the US! ;):lol:

marcnotrust Apr 20th 2011 9:54 am

Hi,

Ha ha ha, Canada is not fully off of the table. But my wife prefers the states, and we dont want to just settle for somewhere for the sake of emigrating. I acutally prefer Toronto because Cisco have a main office there.

To be honest, Regardless of what we decide, everything is still at a very early stage. Im just trying to get as much info as poss on all our options.

We'll be going nowhere if the housing market doesnt pick up ha ha ha.

Cheers,
Marc

christmasoompa Apr 20th 2011 9:55 am