British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Going Back to the UK to Have a Baby? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/going-back-uk-have-baby-920808/)

DanielOH Jan 7th 2019 10:22 pm

Going Back to the UK to Have a Baby?

Wife is a US citizen. I am a permanent resident with a 10-year green card. We have lived here for 4 years and some change.

Thinking about having a baby in the UK (flying over at 7 months pregnant) and then coming back to the US a month or so after birth. My question is how easy is it to fly back to the US for a newborn? Does he/she need a passport? If so, then which one?

I read that children born abroad to a US citizen parent get automatic citizenship if the parent resided in the US for 5 years prior to birth, but we will be at roughly 4 years and 11 months at the time of birth.

Basically, if we have a baby in the UK, how and when can we come back to the UK all together and what is the process?

Thanks all!

Pulaski Jan 7th 2019 10:29 pm

Re: Going Back to the UK to Have a Baby?

If the mother is not resident in the UK at the time of the birth then the NHS (free service) is not legally available, so you can expect to be billed for the services provided. Check your medical insurance in the US, a delivery outside the US may, or may not be covered.

Also your wife won't be allowed on the aircraft if she is "seven months - pushing eight, pregnant". IIRC the limit usually enforced by airlines is six months.

If you are saying that your wife can't pass citizenship to your child then your child will need a British passport, and as they are not a US citizen they can't enter the US to live without having a visa (same rules for all human beings, irrespective of age :) ) - so no, it isn't easy - you can't just send off for a British passport for your newborn child and then hop on a plane back to the US a few days later.