Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Getting married on ESTA & returning to the UK.

Getting married on ESTA & returning to the UK.

Old Jan 20th 2012, 1:21 pm
Just Joined

markusm15 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Getting married on ESTA & returning to the UK.

Hi all,

This is my first post on the forums, but I'm rather worried about a few details concerning my trip to the US soon. I'm visiting at the end of June to the middle of September on the Visa Waiver Program (I'm within the 90 day limit) and I'm getting married on the 2nd of September, due to return on the 10th (with my wife).

A few questions:

1. Will this be fine considering I have a return ticket? I'm a student without a job who will be living with my father come May (though I have sufficient funds to cover my trip, and I may have a job by the time I leave) so I don't know what paperwork to take with me.

2. Although I have no intention of staying in the US after the wedding, I do intend to return there to live a year afterwards. Should I apply for the relevant green card stuff then and there or wait until I return to the UK to do so?

I've heard that you SHOULDN'T come over with the intent to marry but it seems a little ridiculous to lie to the customs officer. I already visited a few weeks ago to see my girlfriend, which I said to the customs officer and was let through with no issue. On that note, I've seen you SHOULD mention you're getting married, but I don't know if I have the relevant paperwork to prove I'll be returning to the UK. I'll have my return ticket and perhaps something from my university to prove I have another year to go back to?

Any help on this matter would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Mark
Old Jan 20th 2012, 1:31 pm
Forum Regular