Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Getting a job in the USA

Wikiposts

Getting a job in the USA

Old Jun 6th 2014, 12:44 am
Nib
Just Joined

Nib is just really niceNib is just really niceNib is just really niceNib is just really niceNib is just really niceNib is just really niceNib is just really niceNib is just really nice
Default Getting a job in the USA

After applying for the DV Lottery since 2001, I finally won the 2015 round! When I first started applying I was a fresh graduate, however my life has changed a lot since. I am now in my mid thirties and by the time I get the green card I will have entered my late thirties. My husband will be mid forties.

I had a good career in IT marketing(having many big name brands as clients) until I moved to Brazil 3.5 years ago. Now I have a large gap on my CV where I have been self employed and not in my field, as it's impossible to find work here as a foreigner. My husband is Brazilian and works in heavy industry manufacturing for an American multinational. He's mid management level with a degree in engineering and an MBA in business management. He also speaks good English.

I am really unhappy in Brazil but my husband refuses to move to Europe(no jobs) or Canada(too cold). I feel that winning a green card gives us the chance to move somewhere that could work for both of us, where there is an established Latin culture, good weather and many different options regarding locations. I really want to give it a shot. However my husband has cold feet, indicating that he is too old to move and start again. I understand his fears but at the end of the day I have a good 30 years left in the working world. I don't want to spend it wasting away in a violent third world city with very little quality of life. I know it would be crazy at our age to drop everything and move, without at least one of us with a job lined up.