British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Getting a Job in the USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/getting-job-usa-712193/)

timtitan Apr 5th 2011 11:59 am

Getting a Job in the USA

Hi

I just found these forums and thought i'd punt a question or two.

I've worked in the USA for a year as a research student (Oak Ridge National Laboratory), and I have a Masters in Physics. I really enjoyed working in the USA, and would love to go back there. At the moment I work in Aerospace, and I'd like to do a PhD eventually. Now if I wanted to emigrate I know a PhD in the US would be the easiest option (I was offered sponsership before, and i'm confident I teach). But i got married last year, and i'm worried that doing a PhD would mean I wouldn't be able to support my wife and for us to start a family if I don't earn enough money.

My worry over work in the USA is I know most jobs in my sector require US Citizenship as they are related to Defense.

What would you people suggest as the best route to living and working in the USA? My wife and I like the idea of Texas, and I really enjoyed Tennessee when I lived there.

tonrob Apr 5th 2011 12:16 pm

Re: Getting a Job in the USA

http://britishexpats.com/wiki/Pulask...ork_in_the_USA

timtitan Apr 5th 2011 12:18 pm

I have read the stickys, sorry i should have made that clear. I am simply seeking the thoughts and advice of those with more experience than I.

Dan725 Apr 5th 2011 1:53 pm

Originally Posted by timtitan (Post 9286598)
Hi

I just found these forums and thought i'd punt a question or two.