British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Getting a job in Texas/California from the UK (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/getting-job-texas-california-uk-882880/)

danheath Sep 5th 2016 12:38 pm

Getting a job in Texas/California from the UK

I have recently received my immigrant visa from the US Embassy in London. My wife is a USC and filed a petition for me and our three children back in May.

We're planning on heading out to either Irvine CA or Austin TX in the next couple of months and I am in the process of looking for a job. I am an experienced Software Engineer and I can see there are plenty of jobs in each of these locations for which I am qualified.

I have reworked by "resume" to be a little more understandable to the American reader. For example, Mobile has been changed to Cell and I have changed the page size to Letter instead of A4.

As all my work experience and education is UK based, I have noted on my cover letters and resume "Green card holder - visa sponsorship not required"

My address is currently still in the UK, so I have been putting this address along with "Relocating to Irvine CA in November 2016" (Or Austin Tx depending on where the job is).

So far, I've not had a single reply! Does anyone have any suggestions on the best approach for applying for work before arriving in the US?

If needs be I can wait until I arrive, then apply as a local candidate but I would rather have something lined up. The move is scary enough as it is.

Pulaski Sep 5th 2016 1:57 pm

Re: Getting a job in Texas/California from the UK