Reload this Page >

Getting a job on H1B

Getting a job on H1B

Old Jan 27th 2004, 2:00 pm
Just Joined

______ is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Getting a job on H1B

Hi All,

I am thinking seriously of settling down in the USA, and it appears from reading this forum and other immigration literature, that my most likely option is via the H1B Employment route.

I have a Bachelors degree in Manufacturing Engineering and a Masters in IT, with a total of about 3 years experience. My question is that is there anyone (in a similar situation to me) who has lucky enough to end up getting a job, before entering the states within the last year or so ??

Thanks.

M
Old Jan 27th 2004, 2:48 pm
Forum Regular

Expat_Wannabe is on a distinguished road

Hedging your bets and going for Canada and USA?!? Think Canada is easier under their points based visa application. I've been applying for internships in the US since last summer and have had very little response. As far as I know, H1B visas are even harder to come by!
Good luck!
Old Jan 27th 2004, 6:29 pm
Arrogant ****

dbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond repute

I'm here on an H1B, but I'm afraid I don't have much encouragement to offer.

As of this year, the number of H1B visas available has been cut dramatically (I forget the numbers, but it's something like a 60% decrease).

As others have found, if you try to apply for jobs in the US from the UK, you're almost certain to be rejected - with the job market as it is over here, few employers would consider a foreign worker over an American.