Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Finding a job

Finding a job

Old Jul 12th 2004, 10:08 pm
Forum Regular

resu is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Finding a job

Could you share your experiences in being a foreigner and finding a job in the U.S.?

Do American companies "trust" foreigners?

Do they accept accents and people having other native tongues?

Do they have understandings for foreign educations?

I know it's more or less impossible to get a work permit unless a company in your home country transfers you, but that's not what I'm asking for. I've searched all over the web for experiences on finding jobs in America being a foreigner and living there, but can't really find what I'm looking for.

I'm Swedish and will move to the U.S. next year and get my work permit within a couple of months. I need a job, but to be honest I'm more than abit worried. I got a 4-year degree from Sweden (master degree in business) and could easily get a good job here, but have no clue about my future in America.

Thanks for any kind of help, advice or comments.

Ola
Old Jul 13th 2004, 3:00 am
BE Forum Addict

Location: Nevada b4 California b4 Colorado b4 Valley of plastic and sand, b4 London
veryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Finding a job

Originally posted by occl
Could you share your experiences in being a foreigner and finding a job in the U.S.?