Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

expectant mothers & immigration

expectant mothers & immigration

Old Jul 13th 2002, 6:32 pm
Just Joined

UKCitizen is an unknown quantity at this point
Default expectant mothers & immigration

hi i am a uk citizen, my gf lives in NY. last month she came down for a 2wk visit , etc etc, and a few days ago i she found out she was pregnant (shes back in NY)

i am a student in UK, on my final year of honours bsc. cs. i dont know how anything works, immigration, etc, i have questions like, what citizenship will my baby inherit? what does immigration say about expectant mothers. ? benefits? etc.

We come from quite a religious background, and our parents are not happy on us being together, the thought of pregnancy would kill them.

i do not yet have a stable income, and i am still attending university. I am willing to move to NY, but the costs of living, and then marrying, then waiting for workers permit to work, and applying endlessly for jobs, are .. stressfull to even think about.

she doesnt mind dropping the baby, its only 4-5 wks old. but i dont know, i dont want to do it, i want this baby to see the world and i want to be proud of it. i am horrified at even thiking about abortion.

i cannot talk to her, she just seems too stressed out. i am the one being looked at for all the solutions. i have talked to a few understanding friends, but no solutions.

i just dont know what to do. all i do is smoke and smoke and smoke and sleep and wake up and smoke. can someone please advise me on what they would do in such a situation?
Old Jul 13th 2002, 6:51 pm
Forum Regular

Ptarmigan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: expectant mothers & immigration

Ok, first of all, calm down a little, its stressful and nerve racking I know, but its not all that bad really, once you know what you are doing and have a goal.