British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   English Engineer wants to move to USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/english-engineer-wants-move-usa-820758/)

PaulDouthwaite82 Jan 8th 2014 2:11 pm

English Engineer wants to move to USA

Hi. Happy new year to you all.

First time poster here so I will appreciate any advice on offer!

My situation is this: My name is Paul. I work in England, 31 years old and I am desperate to move to Houston, Texas asap to live with my American partner. I have a masters degree and 4 years of work experience.

I am finding it difficult applying for jobs in Houston. Is it right for me to apply online? I know they have to sponsor my application so maybe that is putting some companies off. Is there a way of finding companies who are interested in employing Brits?

I have had one offer from the same company I work for, but they are based in New Jersey. However they have said they could find a 'rep' position in Houston. Does anyone know if this is allowed? And how long is the commitment for work with that first company?

While Im here, I should take this opportunity to offer myself available for work to anyone in the Houston area if anyone is reading! I can email my resume to anyone interested.

Best wishes to everyone.

Paul

BunnyGirl Jan 8th 2014 2:14 pm

Re: English Engineer wants to move to USA

Marry your partner. It's the quickest and easiest way of moving to the US.

Pulaski Jan 8th 2014 2:17 pm

Originally Posted by BunnyGirl (Post 11068925)
Marry your partner. It's the quickest and easiest way of moving to the US.

Agreed 110%. Anything else is going to be more difficult , and more uncertain, in comparison.