British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   employment sponsorship in USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/employment-sponsorship-usa-695128/)

sneezy47 Nov 29th 2010 3:45 am

employment sponsorship in USA

Dear all

Please can anyone help/advise me. I am a British Occupational Therapist (OT) who has completed & passed the American OT conversion exam via NBCOT. I also have a Visa Verification Certificate via the NBCOT & a Florida state license pending. However I understand that without a sponsor none of the above can be used. preventing me to be employed.
What I would like to know is
(1) As anyone else completed this process?
(2) if so did you find a sponsor?
(3) dO anyone know of a medical agencies who assists in obtaining H1B visa`s

I love my job as an OT & my clinical area is Stroke rehabilitation. I have taken a six month career break from my job in the UK to come to the USA on a tourist visa hoping to seek sponsorship & change my visa status....

Thank you in advanced to all who reply.

md95065 Nov 29th 2010 7:13 am

Re: employment sponsorship in USA

Do you actually have the "tourist visa" yet and, if not, what makes you think that you will get one?

alan280170 Nov 29th 2010 7:53 am

Originally Posted by md95065 (Post 9009825)
Do you actually have the "tourist visa" yet and, if not, what makes you think that you will get one?

Do you actually get a 6 month toursit visa??? thought it was 90 days max on the waiver scheme.

GeoffM Nov 29th 2010 12:50 pm

Agencies might be able to find you a position but they certainly take a chunk of your wage packet for a couple of years while you're tied in to them. One quote I saw for my wife (critical care) was $28ph agency or $42ph employed direct - for the same position!.