Reload this Page >

Employment Contracts and furloughs

Employment Contracts and furloughs

Old Nov 15th 2009, 1:50 pm
Just Joined

stevie123 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Employment Contracts and furloughs

Hi all,
I'm new to this so please bear with me! I have to give my employer 3 months notice if wish to leave, and likewise they must give me 6 months if they want me to leave. Now the situation is that i want to leave and they want me to stay on longer. Throughout the year, we have had mandatory furloughs imposed on, so my question is whether these furloughs do in fact constitute a break in contract, and do i really have to work the notice terms??
Any advice would be grand!
Old Nov 15th 2009, 2:19 pm

Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Employment Contracts and furloughs

Originally Posted by stevie123
Hi all,
I'm new to this so please bear with me! I have to give my employer 3 months notice if wish to leave, and likewise they must give me 6 months if they want me to leave. Now the situation is that i want to leave and they want me to stay on longer. Throughout the year, we have had mandatory furloughs imposed on, so my question is whether these furloughs do in fact constitute a break in contract, and do i really have to work the notice terms??
Any advice would be grand!
What visa are you here on?
What does your contract say about furloughs?
If you quit, and not give the 3 months notice, are you prepared not to list this employer on your resume?
Are you prepared to go home right away?

Rene
Old Nov 15th 2009, 2:30 pm
Just Joined