Reload this Page >

Educational loan for permanent resident

Educational loan for permanent resident

Old Dec 30th 2001, 11:52 pm
David Reyes

Hi all,

Not strictly an immigration question but perhaps anyone here has gone this road
before....

I'm a US permanent resident (my wife is a US citizen) and I'm planning to go to grad
school. What kind of educational loan, probably federal loan, can I get as a
permanent resident? I'm currently employed, if that matters.

Thanks!

David

Old Dec 31st 2001, 12:04 am
Alvena Ferreira

David Reyes wrote:
    >
    >
    >
    >
You probably qualify for most if not all of them. See examples here for chicago:
http://www.uchicago.edu/student/loan...5pgmtable.html Ask your education
institution, they will guide you regarding what resources they have for loans. Your
residency versus citizenship should not be a problem in getting money. Alvena
-----------------------
Doc Steen Site: http://www.mindspring.com/~docsteen/...o/visainfo.htm
=========================================
I am not a lawyer and this is not immigration advice. This is my personal opinion,
posted for the purpose of discussion only. Locate an immigration attorney in your
area at: http://www.aila.org
=========================================

Old Dec 31st 2001, 12:05 am
Aangiela

I'm not an expert on this, but while I was in college, I worked for the admissions
and financial aid offices. I had to put together foreign student orientations. At
that time which was about three years ago, only US citizens ( this excluded permanent
residents) were able to receive federal student funds for financial aid. You may want
to call the financial aid office at your local college or university. The same rules
apply for all colleges in the US regarding federal finanicial aid. If you can't go
that route, you may try for a personal loan. I know that some of the rates for these
loans are as low as
7.5% which is the same as a student loan. The only hitch is, that you can't wait