British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Educational advice- IGCSEs and US High school (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/educational-advice-igcses-us-high-school-909223/)

TheMatrix1101 Feb 14th 2018 6:10 pm

Educational advice- IGCSEs and US High school

Greetings. I'm a 16 year old student from Bangladesh, and I am giving the British IGCSEs this May. However, today I got the news that me and my family got the immigrant visa for US (family category).

So, I was wondering, if I want to go to a good college in the US or any other country, which of the following options should I choose?

* Give my IGCSEs, then go to US and start US High School

*Stay behind and give IGCSEs and then complete A levels, then apply for US College as an international student

* Don't give IGCSEs, and start US High School directly

My exam registration date is approaching, and I need to take a decision soon. Thank you for your time.

petitefrancaise Feb 14th 2018 7:28 pm

Re: Educational advice- IGCSEs and US High school

Right now you should register for your IGCSE exams in Bangladesh in case you are still there in May.
If possible try to take these exams before you leave - it will help with your transition to US high school.

Applying as an international student will be lots more expensive with fewer places available. Unless your parents are able to afford these fees, I would try to avoid this route.

If you want to go to US College/University then take your IGCSEs, move to the USA and go to high school, apply to colleges as a "legal permanent resident" ie Greencard holder and if you want to keep the tuition fees lower, look at the in-state universities of wherever you will be living.

Good Luck!

steveq Feb 14th 2018 11:31 pm

Originally Posted by TheMatrix1101 (Post 12442101)
* Give my IGCSEs, then go to US and start US High School