Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Earning GBP whilst living in the USA

Earning GBP whilst living in the USA

Old Sep 4th 2020, 4:38 pm
Forum Regular

FUB05 has a reputation beyond reputeFUB05 has a reputation beyond reputeFUB05 has a reputation beyond reputeFUB05 has a reputation beyond reputeFUB05 has a reputation beyond reputeFUB05 has a reputation beyond reputeFUB05 has a reputation beyond reputeFUB05 has a reputation beyond reputeFUB05 has a reputation beyond reputeFUB05 has a reputation beyond reputeFUB05 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Earning GBP whilst living in the USA

Hi All,

I have recently returned to the USA (I am a US Permanent Resident) and am working from the USA remotely for my UK based employer. They are paying me a GBP Salary and I am being taxed at source through PAYE.

As a US resident I am aware of my yearly tax filing obligations and reporting of all my US and foreign based income. I told my US tax accountant of my situation and they informed me that I would be taxed on my GBP sourced income by the IRS as I currently reside in the USA. I found this a little odd because I thought the UK-USA double taxation treaty would have meant that since I am paying monthly tax to the HMRC, I would not be taxed on this income by the IRS.

Has anyone else been in a similar situation to me or aware of how this works in practise? (my accountant could very well be correct)
Old Sep 4th 2020, 4:42 pm
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute