British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   EAD Charged to me - looking for advice. (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/ead-charged-me-looking-advice-896034/)

Sooyp Apr 27th 2017 5:22 pm

EAD Charged to me - looking for advice.

I am an British IT professional working on an E2 visa in the US. My wife is a dependent of that visa but requires a renewed EAD every 18months to 2 years (I forget which). She also happens to work for the same company as me. Despite her asking her manager to work from home occasionally to be with our 10 month old son she was refused every time, even requesting going part time. So enough was enough for her and she handed in her notice. This happens to have been at the time her renewed EAD was being processed but her current one doesn't expire until May 27th. Now the HR head notified me that I need to foot the bill for the renewal fees which totals $2500. Can I fight this in anyway because I will not be able to afford this repayment.

Pulaski Apr 27th 2017 6:20 pm

Re: EAD Charged to me - looking for advice.

That sounds like mostly legal fees. :unsure: .... There's no need for your employer to do your wife's derivative visa and EAD, so do it yourself. It's not difficult and will save you the legal fees.

Sooyp Apr 27th 2017 6:34 pm

We used to pay ourselves but since her employment here they took on the costing. Its all very after the fact now.

Noorah101 Apr 27th 2017 6:34 pm

Did the company already submit the I-765 along with the fee? And now they are asking you to repay them?

Or is this something that had not been submitted yet? If that's the case, you can do it yourself.

Rene

Noorah101 Apr 27th 2017 6:36 pm

If it's already done, you could offer to repay the USCIS fee, that would have cost you anyway if you'd done it yourself, but not the lawyer fees.

Rene

Sooyp Apr 27th 2017 6:42 pm

Its all already submitted.

Pulaski Apr 27th 2017 6:59 pm