Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Dual citizenship - UK pov?

Dual citizenship - UK pov?

Old Jul 18th 2002, 12:24 am
Just Joined

koshercow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Dual citizenship - UK pov?

I am a Brit resident in the USA for 10 yrs. I would like to obtain dual citizenship. Everything I have read says this is OK by the USA and UK powers to be and I am not endangering my UK citizenship.

However I can find no official statement on the UK side that says this? Is there anything official on it? Is this what all of you know to be true?

Has anyone ever had any problems with US/UK dual?

Thanks for your help.
Old Jul 18th 2002, 12:49 am
BE Enthusiast

Ameriscot is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Dual citizenship - UK pov?

I don't have a website at my fingertips, but just to reassure you, it is almost impossible to relinquish British citizenship. Don't worry, you can't do it by accident!
Old Jul 18th 2002, 12:52 am
Forum Regular

Ptarmigan is an unknown quantity at this point

This is from the British Embassy in the US website

Dual Nationality (Adults)