DSL Finally

Old Jul 9th 2004, 11:22 pm
  #1  
You Are All Diseased
Thread Starter
 
rincewind's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Farnham, UK
Posts: 4,511
rincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond repute
Thumbs up DSL Finally

Woohoo (in best Homer Simpson voice).

After being told by several people that I would never get DSL in rural Georgia, I finally have it.

Not only that, my local telephone company stated that the max speed would be up to 512kps. But when the guy installed it all, he was surprised as me to find I have a 100Mbs connection

Now I can get all my music files uploaded.

Woohoo!!!
rincewind is offline  
Old Jul 10th 2004, 12:06 am
  #2  
 
Lion in Winter's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: City of Broad Shoulders
Posts: 53,697
Lion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: DSL Finally

Originally posted by rincewind
Woohoo (in best Homer Simpson voice).

After being told by several people that I would never get DSL in rural Georgia, I finally have it.

Not only that, my local telephone company stated that the max speed would be up to 512kps. But when the guy installed it all, he was surprised as me to find I have a 100Mbs connection

Now I can get all my music files uploaded.

Woohoo!!!

Congratulations. But shouldn't you be out mowing the lawn? I can hear it growing from here.
Lion in Winter is offline  
Old Jul 10th 2004, 12:08 am
  #3  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
John in FL is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Now you can wire your PC up to your stereo and listen to the bbc all day on the wireless without tieing up the phone lines
John in FL is offline  
Old Jul 10th 2004, 12:15 am
  #4  
You Are All Diseased
Thread Starter
 
rincewind's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Farnham, UK
Posts: 4,511
rincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: DSL Finally

Originally posted by Lion in Winter
Congratulations. But shouldn't you be out mowing the lawn? I can hear it growing from here.
Bugger!!!



The lawn is now a Saturday schedule (although with the rain we're having, it should be every 3 days).
rincewind is offline  
Old Jul 10th 2004, 12:36 am
  #5  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
John in FL is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

They don't have a tier pricing system for bandwidth?
John in FL is offline  
Old Jul 10th 2004, 5:19 pm
  #6  
You Are All Diseased
Thread Starter
 
rincewind's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Farnham, UK
Posts: 4,511
rincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Originally posted by John in FL
They don't have a tier pricing system for bandwidth?
Nope. Free DSL modem if you sign up for a year and $49.95 a month. It's more expensive than Yahoo's deal but they don't cover my area. The telephone company we use are the only ones that could do.

Still, I'm not complaining
rincewind is offline  
Old Jul 10th 2004, 6:49 pm
  #7  
Mr. Grumpy
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,100
BritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond repute
Default

the installer got a bit confused - you have a 100 mbit network connection on your pc.... this is not your dsl speed.... your DSL downstream speed is between 256k and 3 mbps, depending on what plan you have

a good test is go to microsoft.com and download a big file like media player, if you have 512k it will download at about 60 kiloBYTES (not kilobits) per second
BritGuyTN is offline  
Old Jul 10th 2004, 7:35 pm
  #8  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
John in FL is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Originally posted by rincewind
Nope. Free DSL modem if you sign up for a year and $49.95 a month. It's more expensive than Yahoo's deal but they don't cover my area. The telephone company we use are the only ones that could do.

Still, I'm not complaining
Nice, I got it down here for $20. But thats only for 256 up.
John in FL is offline  
Old Jul 10th 2004, 8:24 pm
  #9  
You Are All Diseased
Thread Starter
 
rincewind's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Farnham, UK
Posts: 4,511
rincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Originally posted by BritGuyTN
the installer got a bit confused - you have a 100 mbit network connection on your pc.... this is not your dsl speed.... your DSL downstream speed is between 256k and 3 mbps, depending on what plan you have

a good test is go to microsoft.com and download a big file like media player, if you have 512k it will download at about 60 kiloBYTES (not kilobits) per second
Did that. It reached 212KB per second and it downloaded in 30 seconds.

Also on my connection status (flashing minotor icon), it says:

Speed: 100.0Mbps

Beats the hell out of me, but I'm not complaining. It's still faster than my ol' dial up

Last edited by rincewind; Jul 10th 2004 at 8:31 pm.
rincewind is offline  
Old Jul 10th 2004, 9:24 pm
  #10  
Ray
 
Ray's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 68,280
Ray has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I never understand all that ..I am on a cable connection
testing it on http://tech.msn.com/downloads/speedtest.armx
I get a reading of 3195.8 kbps today... seems quick to me..experts tell me ..bad ..fair..good ..
Ray is offline  
Old Jul 10th 2004, 9:53 pm
  #11  
Maño-Americano
 
ironporer's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: In the heart of the Ozarks
Posts: 10,211
ironporer has a reputation beyond reputeironporer has a reputation beyond reputeironporer has a reputation beyond reputeironporer has a reputation beyond reputeironporer has a reputation beyond reputeironporer has a reputation beyond reputeironporer has a reputation beyond reputeironporer has a reputation beyond reputeironporer has a reputation beyond reputeironporer has a reputation beyond reputeironporer has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Just hoping that someday f**king BellSouth or the cable company hangs some new lines here in the country in East Alabamastan. 28k modem connection might have been ok in '91 but I think it sucks. Guess I could splurge $800 for the Direct TV setup and $78 monthly for 100Kbs satelite conex.
ironporer is offline  
Old Jul 10th 2004, 9:54 pm
  #12  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
John in FL is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Originally posted by rincewind
Did that. It reached 212KB per second and it downloaded in 30 seconds.

Also on my connection status (flashing minotor icon), it says:

Speed: 100.0Mbps

Beats the hell out of me, but I'm not complaining. It's still faster than my ol' dial up
If they are just introducing it to your area then probably you have the whole pipe to yourself, it could probably be faster but your limited to 100Mbps because of your Network card.

I know DSL will degrade as more users join.
John in FL is offline  
Old Jul 11th 2004, 12:29 pm
  #13  
Mr. Grumpy
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,100
BritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond repute
Default

in that case you have 1.5 mbps downstream - 3 x faster than specified! cool

ray has a 3.0 mbps connection this is very fast downstream - comcast just upgraded everybody in my area to this

dsl can't actually go more than 7mbps right now...

to put it into context, if i plug one laptop in via the network cable its says 100 mbit, if i use wireless it either says 11mbit or 54 mbit depending on the network card i use

to be honest, anything over 512 is fast - when i got upgraded to 3 mbit from 1.5 mbit i didn't notice the difference
BritGuyTN is offline  
Old Jul 18th 2004, 1:49 am
  #14  
BE Forum Addict
 
veryfunny's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: California b4 Colorado b4 Valley of plastic and sand, b4 London
Posts: 2,023
veryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: DSL Finally

Originally posted by rincewind
Woohoo (in best Homer Simpson voice).

After being told by several people that I would never get DSL in rural Georgia, I finally have it.

Not only that, my local telephone company stated that the max speed would be up to 512kps. But when the guy installed it all, he was surprised as me to find I have a 100Mbs connection

Now I can get all my music files uploaded.

Woohoo!!!
100mbs connection you are dreaming. On what planet?

You must mean 1mb per second right?
If I were you I go to http://www.bandwidthconnection.com/speedtest/
Comcast promised me 3MB per sec only getting 1Mb per sec. Been chancing them all week.

Last edited by veryfunny; Jul 18th 2004 at 1:51 am.
veryfunny is offline  
Old Jul 18th 2004, 5:21 pm
  #15  
You Are All Diseased
Thread Starter
 
rincewind's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Farnham, UK
Posts: 4,511
rincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: DSL Finally

Originally posted by veryfunny
100mbs connection you are dreaming. On what planet?

You must mean 1mb per second right?
If I were you I go to http://www.bandwidthconnection.com/speedtest/
Comcast promised me 3MB per sec only getting 1Mb per sec. Been chancing them all week.
DSL speeds always confuse me. The speed on my status screen says 100Mbs but the test I did on the site you gave me said 3Mb per second.

So why does my Internet Connection say 100Mbs but in actuality, it's only 3Mbs?
rincewind is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.