British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Driving using my international drivers license when out of home state... (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/driving-using-my-international-drivers-license-when-out-home-state-915808/)

FrankCastle Aug 8th 2018 2:14 am

Driving using my international drivers license when out of home state...

Hi All,
I'm a resident of NY state now (by DMV standards as i've been here over 90 days). Have a full international drivers license and my NY state learners permit but still waiting to take my test to get the full license.

Weird question i cant seem to find anything on. Looking to go to Virginia next week and rent a car for a few days - anyone here know if I'm legally allowed to use my international drivers license given that i'm not a Virginia resident but am a NY state resident?

Thanks in advance!

Guindalf Aug 8th 2018 4:06 am

Re: Driving using my international drivers license when out of home state...

I don't know for sure, but as a US resident, you are required to have a US driver's license. Therefore, technically, all you have is a learner's permit.

An International license is just a translated copy of your UK license, which, again technically, is no longer valid.

As I said, IANAL and I certainly wouldn't recommend trying it without getting the skinny from the Virginia DMV before you travel. Being unlicensed could leave you to all sorts of problems if you were to be involved in a collision.

Bottom line, check with the relevant authorities to be safe.

I'm sure someone with more experience will come along with a more definitive answer.

civilservant Aug 8th 2018 11:44 am

I wouldn't risk it, as a resident of another state without a valid state DL. If you have a wreck, it's possible the insurance may be invalid as you are actually a US resident but using a foreign DL.

scrubbedexpat099 Aug 8th 2018 1:15 pm