Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Double Taxation Treaty US/UK HELP!

Double Taxation Treaty US/UK HELP!

Old Mar 13th 2011, 2:02 pm
Just Joined

patrickquirke is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Double Taxation Treaty US/UK HELP!

I moved from the UK in March 2010 on a Fiance Visa (K1) and i married a US Citizen. I still work for my UK Company and pay UK Taxes i am a Permanent Resident here in the US with a Green Card (I am not a US Citizen). We have to fill in our tax filing now and i dont know what to enter or how to go out it over here. As i pay my taxes in the UK and there is a Tax Treaty between the UK and US i shouldn't have to pay US Taxes. Does anyone know what i need to do or know of any accountants i can contact and use?
Old Mar 13th 2011, 2:40 pm
Account Closed

ian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Double Taxation Treaty US/UK HELP!

Originally Posted by patrickquirke
As i pay my taxes in the UK and there is a Tax Treaty between the UK and US i shouldn't have to pay US Taxes.
You shouldn't need to pay US tax on UK income that has already been taxed... correct. You still need to declare the income on your US tax return. You enter it at the beginning of the return (as income) and subtract it out at the end (money already taxed). At the end of it all, it works out just right.

Ian
Old Mar 13th 2011, 4:52 pm
BE Enthusiast