British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Do my UK qualifications transfer to the US? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/do-my-uk-qualifications-transfer-us-936703/)

H83 Jan 20th 2021 2:49 pm

Do my UK qualifications transfer to the US?

Hi, I'm new to this forum, but my husband, son and I moved to the US almost a year ago (days before covid shut everything down). Our plans were put on hold for awhile but we've settled in in Texas.

My son has special needs and will be starting elementary school in September so I am looking for something that would work around his schedule which naturally pointed me in the direction of jobs in the school system. I have a law degree LLB (Hons), a MSc in psychology, a diploma in counselling a certificate in CBT and before having my son I had a private counselling practice. I'm not sure if there's anything else I need to do to supplement my current qualifications or if I need to start from scratch. Sorry for the lengthy post. Any advice would be deeply appreciated!

scrubbedexpat099 Jan 20th 2021 5:24 pm

Re: Do my UK qualifications transfer to the US?

I knew somebody who did Substitute Teaching, that does not need the usual qualifications. Well here anyway.

PetrifiedExPat Jan 20th 2021 6:03 pm

The only career that I know of where a degree is 100% transferrable is a life science job req. a PhD. There may be others but can only speak from experience (limited).

I heard a rumor that US private schools may accept UK qualifications as is, public schools may require some standardisation test.

scrubbedexpat099 Jan 20th 2021 6:22 pm

IT is perhaps the most common one.

morpeth Jan 20th 2021 7:25 pm

Originally Posted by PetrifiedExPat (Post 12961874)
The only career that I know of where a degree is 100% transferrable is a life science job req. a PhD. There may be others but can only speak from experience (limited).