Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Divorce and UK pre-marriage assets... Help!

Divorce and UK pre-marriage assets... Help!

Old Jun 2nd 2019, 11:13 pm
Forum Regular

G00dByeGirl has a reputation beyond reputeG00dByeGirl has a reputation beyond reputeG00dByeGirl has a reputation beyond reputeG00dByeGirl has a reputation beyond reputeG00dByeGirl has a reputation beyond reputeG00dByeGirl has a reputation beyond reputeG00dByeGirl has a reputation beyond reputeG00dByeGirl has a reputation beyond reputeG00dByeGirl has a reputation beyond reputeG00dByeGirl has a reputation beyond reputeG00dByeGirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Divorce and UK pre-marriage assets... Help!

Hello

Newbie here, first post. It's a bit miserable I'm afraid.

I was with my husband for 11 years, married for almost 4 years. I'm a Brit, he's American and I just got my US citizenship. I've just been blindsided, he wants a divorce. I know, great timing. And there's no changing his mind.

I can't get a definitive answer from two attorneys I've seen so far: Is he entitled to make a claim on my pre-marital UK assets (my lifetime savings and private pension)?

I gave up my job, house, car, family, friends and country to marry him. It doesn't seem fair that he can go after 50% of my assets in the UK when he made absolutely no contribution to them. He is threatening to do this if I don't agree to his terms. It makes a big difference to how I'll approach the divorce. I will move back to England and need to protect what I have to start my life over.

Can anyone help? We live in Kansas which is an an equitable distribution state, but I don't know if that extends to monies held in the UK that are pre-marital.

Many thanks for reading, appreciate any advice.
Old Jun 3rd 2019, 12:33 am
BE Forum Addict