Reload this Page >

Desperate for childcare advice/explanation of US school system pls

Desperate for childcare advice/explanation of US school system pls

Old Jun 19th 2012, 10:05 pm
Just Joined

sleepygirlzzzz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Desperate for childcare advice/explanation of US school system pls

Hello,

I'm brand new to this site but have been searching through the forums and already find it invaluable!

Just to give you a brief background - I'm an American currently living in the UK with my British husband and 2 kids (3.5 and 1.5 years old). We are in the midst of planning a move next year to the Chicago suburbs where I'm originally from. Although I'm a US citizen, I've lived in the UK for the past 10 years and have never actually lived in the US as an adult because I moved to the UK after a year travelling in Australia (after college) where I met my husband. So I have no experience in things like medical insurance, car insurance, etc etc and in particular, in looking for childcare and schools.

If all goes as planned, my daughter will be 4 when the 2013 school year starts - her bday is in Sept so will miss the cut-off - so from what I understand, she'll be preschool age. From the research I've done so far, it looks like the majority of preschools are private and very expensive. Is that correct? I've also been hearing about pre-Kindergarten and have no idea what this is?? And are preschools only half days or are there full day options?

I'm currently a stay-at-home mom but was thinking I might have to go back to work full time once we move. But after doing a bit of research, I can't figure out what I'm going to do with my two kids before work and after work if preschools are only half days. Can anyone offer any advice on what other working parents do with their young children?