Considering returning to the UK Need Advice

Considering returning to the UK Need Advice

Old Jan 7th 2003, 1:14 am
Forum Regular

Location: Originally Sussex Then Oregon Then Vancouver Now Colorado
Wildcat_1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Considering returning to the UK Need Advice

Hi there

I am a British Citizen and U.S. permanent resident and have a few questions.

Do to the poor economic climate that we're all facing at the moment it has been impossible for me to find employment here in the U.S. (I work in the tech industry) and so in an effort to find work and support my U.S. wife I feel the only option available to me is to return to the UK and work there for a year or two. My only concern in doing this is would my permanent residency status be revoked if I'm away longer than a year ?

What can you do to preserve residency outside of the rentry permit which is only available for one year ?

Just trying to consider all options

Can you please offer some advice on the matter?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Simon
Old Jan 7th 2003, 8:57 am
Just Joined

faeryred is an unknown quantity at this point

I am no expert, but a 'green card' holder who moved back to the uk over a year ago. I was not aware of the 12 month guideline so I am now having to re-apply for residency. As far as I can see, if you ask permission from US Immigration before you leave and file all the necessary paperwork, maybe returning would not be such a hassle. However, be advised if they think you are giving up US residency permanently, they may decline application.
Also be advised, the tech industry here is no better than US less pay, and also you would have to file for your wife, you cannot just up and leave, and enter britain.Visit www.ind.homeoffice.gov.uk for info. Good luck.
ps Life in England takes a lot of re adjusting, I would stay in America!
Old Jan 30th 2003, 1:28 pm
darrenb