Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Class 2 NI. What about us poor expats paying voluntary contributions?

Class 2 NI. What about us poor expats paying voluntary contributions?

Old Jan 15th 2019, 1:22 pm
Just Joined

DJClaire is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Class 2 NI abolished. What about us poor expats paying voluntary contributio

Originally Posted by Mclearg
Hi All, sorry to jump on this but I'm relocating to the US at the end of February and I'm keen to pay my NI contributions.
I am a total novice with all this Class 2, Class 4 etc but as stated in the thread title Class 2 is being abolished.

I've just realised/noticed that you can check your contributions online and I've discovered that I have not been credited for 3 of the 5 years that I was at University - a letter has been sent

Does anyone have a link to the UK Gov section for setting up these payments? or should I wait until I am in the US?

Any help gratefully received.
Another confused person here! I am self employed in the UK and currently pay none or very little tax as I do not clear the threshold on my rental property. I believe I have been making Class 2 contributions for about 3-4 years, before that I was employed full time. How can I see what I have paid in?

I am moving to the States in February and would like to continue to pay my taxes in the UK. Is that possible? Any recommendations for an accountant who understands both US and American systems? I will be in Connecticut.
Old Jan 15th 2019, 1:30 pm
tbm
Forum Regular

tbm is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Class 2 NI abolished. What about us poor expats paying voluntary contributio

Originally Posted by DJClaire