Reload this Page >

Car Insurance for New Arrivals

Car Insurance for New Arrivals

Old Dec 10th 2019, 11:10 am
Forum Regular

vivid291 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Car Insurance for New Arrivals

Hi all,

apologies if there is already a thread somewhere about this but just wondering if anyone has any car insurance companies they’d recommend. I’ve been driving for 10 years with 10 years no claims in the U.K. but I believe that your foreign driving history doesn’t count for U.S. insurance companies so I’m anticipating being treated like a brand new driver. I’m going to get my U.S. license within the month I move over and am fortunate in that my husband has an old car that I can drive initially. Just wondering if anyone here was in a similar situation when they first moved and what insurance providers they went with and how much it cost etc. I’ve heard it initially costs an arm and a leg so at least if I have an idea in advance, hearing the figures when the time comes won’t be a complete shock!
Many thanks in advance!
Old Dec 10th 2019, 11:47 am
Often not so civil...

civilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Car Insurance for New Arrivals

US insurance costs 'an arm and a leg' period simply because of the level of claims. Most people here couldn't drive a greasy stick up a hogs a**.

You're correct that your UK driving history won't be assessed.

I personally would go with local recommendations when you arrive since the industry here is highly variable by locality.
Old Dec 10th 2019, 1:46 pm
BE Enthusiast