Reload this Page >

Building Credit

Building Credit

Old Jan 6th 2015, 3:25 pm
Just Joined

yogibear14 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Building Credit

Hi all

I know there are already plenty of threads on here on this topic however I have some fairly specific information.

Basically I am trying to build credit history in the US. I have been working here for about 2 months, I am renting, I have bought a car (and am making insurance payments) and have a checking account.

I have tried and been declined for a few credit cards. One of said credit cards is at BofA where my checking account is held, and on the advice given in-branch I sent off a letter to get the application reviewed and ask them to consider international history. It still got declined, but they did provide me with my credit score, which was 503, and was apparently pulled on 12/1/14.

However, if I try and pull my score from somewhere like creditkarma, it is unable to locate any record ("thin file").

So, 503 seems reasonably good for a new arrival, what of the current things I'm doing are likely to be increasing this, and is it likely to keep increasing if I do nothing? Or am I still best going and getting a secured credit card.

And why did BofA report the score, but I can't obtain it from anywhere else? I suppose my thinking is if it was 503 a month ago it may well have increased further by now.

Thanks
Old Jan 6th 2015, 4:14 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Michael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Building Credit